« Return to list

Cambridge Village Market

  • Street: 113 South Main Street
  • Town: Cambridge
  • Contact: Bruce Macmillan
  • Telephone: 802-644-2272

Store History

The Cambridge Village Market was originally built in the 1850's and has always served as a grocery store. In the 1900's, it was known as The Willy Brothers Store. However, fifty years later, the store became The Cambridge Community Lockers, where the locals would rent refrigerator and freezer space to store food. Eventually, in the late 1960's the food lockers were removed. Bruce MacMillan purchased the store in 1990 and has made many improvements as well as a recent addition that makes the original store twice its original size. The Cambridge Village Market continues to grow and serve the community in the tradition of a true, Vermont country store.

jkj


« Return to list


Vermont Magazine Features Country Stores

Vermont magazine

Each issue of Vermont Magazine generally features an interesting article and profile one of the state's country store gems, many of which are member of the Vermont Alliance of Independent Country Stores. Our thanks to editor & publisher Phil Jordan for sharing a few with us:

Adamant Co-op

Wayside Country Store

Buxton's Store

Putney General Store